Auburn wins Session I of SEC Gymnastics Championship

about an hour ago
SEC Network Staff

Photo: Auburn Athletics

DULUTH, GA– The 5-seeded Auburn Tigers captured the Session I crown of the SEC Gymnastics Championship with a score of 197.100.

After the first rotation, Mizzou held a slight advantage with a beam score of 49.375 led by 9.950 from Helen Hu and 9.900 from Sienna Schreiber. SEC Gymnastics Athlete of the Year Cassie Stevens kept Auburn from close range (49.300) with a jump score of 9.950.

Missouri extended its lead to .250 with electrifying floor routines from Alisa Sheremeta and Jocelyn Moore that both scored 9.900.

Heading into the final rotation, the winner of Session I was up for grabs.

Auburn had moved into the lead (147.875) with 9.900 on beam from Stevens and Gabby McLaughlin. Missouri was second (147.600) after big jump scores from Moore and Amari Celestine. Norah Flatley and Lauren Williams’ 9.900 rushes held Arkansas to third place (147.400). Georgia followed closely at 147.375 with well-executed uneven bars routines from Haley De Jong (9.900) and Katie Finnegan (9.875).

Derrian Gobourne closed the show with a 9.875 rushing to win the title for Auburn.

Missouri had the best score on uneven bars (49.400), but that wasn’t enough to pass Auburn in the final rotation. The Razorbacks closed their last event with the highest jump spin score (49.425) of Session I as Flatley, Williams, Cami Weaver and Frankie Price recorded 9.900.

Session I Event Scores

Team (seed)SkipBarsBeamFloorFinal score
(5) Auburn49,30049.35049.22549.225197.100
(6) Arkansas49.42549.17549.05049.175196.825
(7) Mo.48,90049,40049.37549.325197,000
(8) Georgia49.10049,25049.22549.025196,600


Leave a Reply